VeganMoFo and Cheap Food

October 1, 2008

So, there’s this thing called Vegan Month of Food (VeganMoFo) that’s happening this month, where, you know, lots of people blog about vegan food.  I kept thinking, man, I’m too poor for that, I’ll just end up spending a ton on food.  You know, I spent a ridiculous amount of money on vet bills a month or so ago, and our monthly income since then has been roughly halved (before then too, but it was less of an issue).

Then I realized… vegan food can be really cheap, and healthy, AT THE SAME TIME!!!  I could blog a ton about eating on my budget!  Been done before?  I’m sure it has (and not just the crazy guy who ate for a month on $30 either).  But I’m doing it again dammit.  And you can’t stop me.

So my plan is this… my budget for the month of October for food is $103, including any food, and any food preparation tools I might need to buy (which will not be much–I’m pretty stocked there).  That’s not super-low, I don’t think, so I will keep my usual goal of eating almost entirely organic, as well.  The other part of my plan…. is that I will keep a journal (here) of everything I eat.  Starting today.

But first!  In case you’re interested, here‘s a list of other participants in VeganMoFo, and here’s the cute logo.

Now, on to the first day of cheap food.

Breakfast: Pre-October purchased Amy’s burrito.

Lunch: toffuti cream cheese sandwich (all pre-October purchased; also not very healthy, but I was STARVING)

Dinner: Lentil soup with red pepper, onion, jalapeno, nutritional yeast (pre-october purchased ingredients, except nutritional yeast), with brown rice

Shopping: I spent $27 on food and cheese cloth (for making my own soy milk, since I certainly can’t afford to buy pre-packaged on this budget).  Food included pounds and pounds of several types of beans (including soy, for milk), brown rice, a zucchini, a green bell pepper, two little hot peppers, nutritional yeast, and tofu.  All organic, except not the nutritional yeast (I think?  I don’t know).  I plan to make my own tofu, but the genius that is Susan at fatfreevegan made me realize that I don’t need a fancy tofu making thingy, and I could just recycle a plastic tub of some sort.  I didn’t have any on-hand, so… buying tofu, it is.

Leave a Reply

