vegan fusion philly cheese steak

July 3, 2008

So I bought some Field Roast brand deli meats. I’ve bought their sausages (which aren’t available here) and really liked them, so I figured I’d try this. It was kind of odd, but tasty. I bought the lentil sage flavor. Anyway, then I noticed some FYH cheddar in my fridge that wanted to be eaten, so I came up with this concoction. I call it vegan fusion [because there’s guacamole!] philly cheese steak. I’ve obviously never had philly cheese steak, so I have no idea how it compares (probably not at all), but it is really, really tasty.

There is half an avocado’s worth of guacamole with lime juice and salt, sauted onions, 4 slices of the deli meat, and a little bit of FYH cheddar, fried in olive oil and served on some tasty tasty whole grain bread from a local vegetarian cafe/restaurant/whatever (Benevolence Cafe).

4 Responses to “vegan fusion philly cheese steak”

  1. Daniel Says:

    Okay, no disrespect here because I appreciate the vegetarian lifestyle. Really, I do. To make a Philly cheesesteak that way is simply a semantic error. Your sandwich is something else and I’m sure it was really good, something I would actually like to try. I put up a photo of an unbelievably good Philly cheesesteak over at http://www.bentpage.com. Check it out. Mean time, I’m going to see if I can make that sandwich of yours and see how it tastes. Thanks.

  2. Daniel Says:

    Sorry, screwed up. that blog is http://www.bentpage.wordpress.com. Won’t happen again, promise!

  3. hecateluna Says:

    I… don’t see it. (The photo that is.)

    In any case, I’m of the opinion that if you put either “vegan” or “fusion” in the name of something (and definitely if you put both), you can pretty much do whatever you want. I mean, it’s not like anyone who knows what “vegan” is is going to be confused and expect beef or real cheese here (I’ve got no excuse for the bread or the guac, but hey, if you’re going to fuck something up, you may as well go all the way right?). Regardless of what you want to call it, it was pretty damn tasty, and recommended for those lazy vegan types who buy pre-packaged fake meat.

  4. Daniel Says:

    hecateluna, you’re right. Go all the way. Seriously, that’s a creative recipe and eating creatively keeps life fun. Thanks for the tips. (Don’t know why the photo doesn’t shop up. Should be under my Philadelphia Area category. I’ll check the system.) Saludos and happy dining.


Leave a Reply

