runner cannellini and fennel soup

May 4, 2008

This is very inspired by the dried fava bean and fresh fennel soup from fatfreevegan, but to be fair, anything I’ve done with fennel is. I’ve always been irrationally very afraid of fennel–perhaps my mother made something with fennel that I hated as a child; I don’t remember, but in any case, I’ve always avoided fennel. When Susan posted that recipe, though, I decide to try it. As it turns out, I couldn’t find fava beans at all, so I ended up making a fennel, leek, potato, and tarragon concoction instead.

After I tasted my runner cannellinis from rancho gordo, I decided that they wanted to be paired with fennel, so I bought some fennel. It turned out that I was right, it was very tasty. The only change I’d make is to use some vegetable broth (or vegetable broth powder), but I didn’t have any, so I didn’t.

Runner Cannellini and Fennel Soup

serves 2

~2/3 c dried runner cannellini beans (or some other white bean)
1 med bulb fennel, sliced
6 baby red potatoes (or 2 sm-med red potatoes), chopped
1/4 med yellow onion, chopped finely
1 stalk celery, sliced
1 tsp nutritional yeast
1 tsp dried sage
1/2 tbsp chopped fronds from the fennel
salt
black pepper
more fennel fronds for garnish

Soak and begin cooking beans as usual. When beans reach that “almost done” stage where you would be very tempted to just eat them despite the slightly crunchy texture if you were very hungry (1 hr for me), add the potatoes, onion, celery, fennel, sage, nutritional yeast, and salt to taste. Simmer for 25-30 minutes, until everything is tender. Serve with black pepper sprinkled on top, and garnish with more fennel fronds.

Leave a Reply

