scarlet runner beans

April 30, 2008

My new beans from rancho gordo arrived today. I was tempted to cook the christmas limas, but instead decided to try something I’d never eaten, so I cooked the scarlet runners. I cooked them very simply (salt, a bit of olive oil), so I could really see what they tasted like. They were odd. Perhaps a bit bacony (not that I’ve ever tasted bacon, so what do I know)–definitely a bit smokey. Tasty, though. I ate them with simple polenta.

They’re also quite beautiful before cooking. (After cooking, they are just black and very dark burgandy–but they do keep some of their markings.)

I think next time I cook them, I will try some sort of dip or spread, possibly with kalamata olives (just a few–to avoid overwhelming the smokey taste of the beans).

Leave a Reply

