kumquat-almond butter cookies

April 29, 2008

I had some kumquats left over, and wanted to use them before they went bad. This is what came out. They taste AMAZING, but the texture could use some work. They use whole wheat flour, not too much fat (aside from the almond butter), and kumquats, which I’m sure have vitamin C and other good stuff, so they’re pretty healthy. They are also not too too sweet, which is a bonus for me.  Let me reiterate, they taste AWESOME.  I don’t usually like citrus much, but these are good.

Kumquat-Almond Butter Cookies

1 c white whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
6 kumquats, quartered, deseeded, sliced thin
1/3 c almond butter
2 tbs tofutti non-hydrogenated better than cream cheese
1/2 c granulated sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp almond extract
1/2 c soy milk (I used unsweetened)

Preheat oven to 350 (the oven thermometer is your friend!). Combine flour, salt, and baking powder. In another bowl, mix remaining ingredients well. Combine wet and dry ingredients. Spoon onto a cookie sheet (I got 13 cookies out of it, but I’m sure you could do 12). Bake for 15 minutes.

2 Responses to “kumquat-almond butter cookies”

  1. David Says:

    I approve of Citrus

  2. hecateluna Says:

    I will make them for you! Or I will make you raspberry-kumquat cupcakes, if they are tasty.


Leave a Reply

