spinach & soba stir fry

April 27, 2008

This is a very adapted “recipe” from my first college roommate. (Yes, I was fortunate enough to randomly be assigned a vegan roommate my first year!) She introduced me to tofu, Braggs, and stir-frying. Yes, I know, hard to believe that I was vegan, enjoyed cooking, and hadn’t ever eaten tofu or stir-fried anything. I was sheltered, what can I say. Anyway, this was my favorite food for two years… I ate it at least three times a week when I had money for fresh spinach and tofu.

Spinach & Soba Stir Fry

soba noodles (~1/3 package)
1/2 package tofu
3 leaves napa cabbage
lots of spinach
sesame oil
lots of black pepper
Bragg’s to taste

Cook sobas according to package instructions. Drain and rinse with cold water. Rinse pot, put back on medium heat to dry. Once dry, fry tofu briefly in sesame oil. Turn heat up to med-high, add napa cabbage, stirring almost constantly (or. constantly, if you’re not lazy like me). Once the crunchy bits of the napa cabbage is almost cooked to your liking (I leave it pretty crunchy), add Bragg’s. Cook for another 30 seconds or so, then add spinach, more Bragg’s, and black pepper. Stir for 10 seconds or so, turn off heat, and continue to stir until spinach is wilted. Stir in soba noodles (and more Bragg’s to taste).

More pictures after the jump.

Leave a Reply

