mac&cheese, cocoa, and cherry blossoms

April 25, 2008

The cherry tree right by my bus stop just started blooming. It’s very pretty!

cherry blossoms

Also, I made hot cocoa with my very tasty new green & black brand cocoa powder (plus some soyatoo whipped topping) and mac & cheese with tofurkey sausages, sage, and thyme for a late lunch/early dinner.

cocoa

You’ll also notice my very cute (and ironic) christmas-themed mug from Target. (It was $1. At least it’s got a classy snowflake instead of an ugly snowman scene.)

mac&cheese

I wanted mac & cheese, but I wanted something a little different. I tried adding sage and thyme–I was afraid it would be awful, but it was surprisingly delicious. I will probably do it again sometime. I think my least favorite part was the italian tofurkey sausages (another flavor would probably have been preferable), but I was craving a bit of protein, was lazy, and that’s all I had on-hand. Next time I will probably increase the sage, and leave out the sausage.

Mac & Cheese

macaroni
1 tofurkey italian sausage
2/3 c soy milk
2 tbs white whole wheat flour
1 tsp nutritional yeast
1/4 tsp dried sage
1/4 tsp dried thyme
2 oz FYH cheddar, sliced thinly
1 tbs soy margarine
1 tbs tofutti better than cream cheese
salt & black pepper to taste (I use LOTS of black pepper)

Prepare macaroni. Meanwhile, dice sausage and fry on low heat in a bit of olive oil. Mix soy milk, flour, nutritional yeast, salt, sage, and thyme. When the macaroni is done, drain and return to pot. Over low heat, stir in the soy milk-flour-seasoning mixture, cheese, margarine, and cream cheese. Stir constantly until cheese melts. Stir in cooked sausage and black pepper.

Leave a Reply

